AI EXPERIMENTS

Beyond Reading: My Experiment with AI-Powered Summarization Tools

Using ChatGPT and DALL-E to Capture the Essence of Articles

Samuele
3 min readJan 3, 2024

--

Midjourney

This story was written with the assistance of an AI writing program.

While compiling my reading recommendations, I noticed a recurring pattern in my approach. This prompted me to consider seeking assistance from ChatGPT. Consequently, I crafted a prompt to succinctly summarize the essence of intriguing articles.

I experimented with two methods: submitting the article’s URL to ChatGPT, and uploading a PDF of the article. Utilizing the URL is straightforward and efficient, yet it faces two challenges:

  1. The URL must be openly accessible, without requiring login or payment.
  2. The AI must be able to clearly discern the page’s content.

Alternatively, converting the page content into a PDF bypasses these issues. While this method might seem slower, speed isn’t a primary concern. My objective is to obtain basic summaries of articles and posts I’ve already perused and found significant. In fact, having previously read and considered the content noteworthy is a prerequisite.

--

--

Samuele

I'm a hobby programmer, experimenting with Svelte, Javascript, Construct 3 and magic tools